Officiating Development

The development of officials plays an important aspect in the continued development of inline hockey in Ireland. With the help of World Skate Europe, Inline Hockey Ireland is implementing a development plan for officials to ensure there is continued development and support for all officials.

Register your interest to become an official here.

Key Personnel

Head of Officiating (HOO) - Jason Tessier -

Officiating Advisor - Stephane Angelique

Development Structure

The development structure involves 4 levels of qualification:

  • Level 0 - Off-Court Official for all levels
  • Level 1 - On Court Official up to Senior League 1
  • Level 2 - On Court Official up to Senior Elite
  • Level 3 - On Court Official up to Senior Elite & International Opportunities

To obtain a qualification an official must attend the relevant courses and achieve pass marks in theory and practical assessments. Over time as officials gain experience they will be given assignments in higher divisions. As part of our development model all officials will be assessed and supported throughout the season, similar to a coach of any team.

IHI will put forward interested Level 3 qualified official to officiate at World and European events through World Skate and World Skate Europe, respectively. Please note this may require further training with to gain an international qualification. If necessary, and where possible, IHI will financially assist anyone wishing to pursue these opportunities.

Officiating Expenses

Officials get paid a mileage rate, daily rate and per game rate, creating generous expenses for the time and effort given up. 

Expectations of Officials

  • To register annually as an official (this is separate to a player or coach registration).
    This fee covers access to all training courses and development days throughout the season. Additionally, every registered official will be given an IHI officiating jersey free of charge, of which the official is expected to keep in good condition.
  • To abide by and provide relevant information in line with IHI's recruitment policy.
  • To agree to and follow the Officials Code of Conduct.
  • To attend clinics and maintain qualifications as necessary.
  • To make yourself available and fulfil scheduled game assignments.
  • To perform to the best of your abilities in all games.
  • To submit any game reports as necessary in a timely manner.
  • Referees must wear/have the following:
    • IHI referee jersey (provided by IHI)
    • Plain black referee trousers
    • Black certified hockey helmet with visor
    • Elbow pads
    • Shin pads
    • Jock
    • Protective shorts (Optional, but cannot be ice hockey shorts)
    • Plain laces on skates
    • 2 x referee whistles
  • All officials are responsible for the upkeep of their equipment.

Qualified Officials

Level 3

  • Jason Tessier

Level 2

  • Eduards Bartkevics
  • Michael Creane
  • Jamie Cummins
  • William Fay
  • Vytautas Lukosevicius
  • Artem Muskulidi
  • Brendan Quigley

Level 1

  • Odhran Bancroft
  • Katarina Benova
  • Andrew Creane
  • Adam Donohue
  • James Glover
  • Pavol Halaska
  • Ross Jordan
  • Frank Kennedy
  • Conor Martin
  • Sonya McEneaney
  • David Neill
  • David Sally
  • Atis Vitolins
Approve & Close

This website uses browser cookies to identify authorized users, enhance user experience and collect usage statistics via third-party tools like Google Analytics. Some web pages may use cookies to identify users and customize advertising content to user interests. Please indicate if you approve this website to use cookies for these purposes.

Approve & Close
No results found Searching... Please enter 1 or more characters Please delete some character The results could not be loaded. Loading more results… Selection too big